WhatsApp keeps experimenting with new and exciting features to surprise its users. And as always the social media giant is working on a slew of brand new features. Recently, WABetaInfo, the independent portal which publishes news and updates about WhatsApp confirms two inline features that are View once and choosing video quality feature.
Earlier, WABetaInfo reported that WhatsApp’s Android beta testers have just been given access to a new feature called “View Once” or “Expiring media” which was then verified by Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg and WhatsApp chief Will Cathcart. Expiring media is a feature that allows users to send images and videos that would vanish after received and viewed once. These messages can be watched by a recipient only once. Just as Snapchat, features a fundamental characteristic whereby media shared via posts were erased after a certain amount of time. If the message has been delivered, seen, and opened, the user who sent it may check the status of the chat.
The feature may be used in groups as well. Each member of the group can view the provided video or image. By clicking on message info, the sender may see who opened the message. But, there is a problem viewers can still take a screenshot and the sender won’t be notified.
Now, after “View Once” feature, WhatsApp may introduce a new feature in which users would be allowed to choose the video quality before sending it to anyone, as reported by the WABetaInfo. This feature is advantageous since it will allow users to choose the best choice for saving bandwidth or sharing the video without excessive compression. Users may use data saver mode which compresses them and reduces the amount of data used. Video can be sent in three options which include Auto (recommended), Best Quality, and Data Saver.
However, there is not any official announcement for the same. It’s a feature that may be added in the future, especially because the feature is on-demand.